South African Footballers Who Have Won the PSL Player of the Season Award

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) Player of the Season award is one of the most prestigious accolades in South African football. This award, given annually, recognizes the most outstanding player in the PSL, celebrating their exceptional performances, skills, and contributions to their team’s success throughout the season. Since its inception in 1996, the PSL has seen numerous talented footballers rise to the occasion, with several South African players leaving an indelible mark on the league’s history. Here, we highlight some of the standout South African footballers who have won this coveted award.

1. Siyabonga Nomvethe (2011-2012)

Siyabonga Nomvethe’s career resurgence in the 2011-2012 season was nothing short of remarkable. Playing for Moroka Swallows, the veteran striker exhibited extraordinary form, finishing the season as the league’s top scorer with 20 goals. His lethal finishing and leadership on the field were instrumental in Swallows’ strong league campaign, earning him the PSL Player of the Season award at the age of 34.

2. Itumeleng Khune (2012-2013)

One of South Africa’s most celebrated goalkeepers, Itumeleng Khune, had a stellar 2012-2013 season with Kaizer Chiefs. Known for his remarkable shot-stopping ability, distribution skills, and command of the penalty area, Khune was pivotal in Chiefs’ title-winning campaign. His consistent performances and numerous clean sheets earned him the Player of the Season award, making him one of the few goalkeepers to ever receive this honor.

3. Sibusiso Vilakazi (2013-2014)

Sibusiso Vilakazi, playing for Bidvest Wits, enjoyed a breakthrough season in 2013-2014. His creativity, vision, and goal-scoring prowess from midfield were key factors in Wits’ competitive campaign. Vilakazi’s standout performances included crucial goals and assists that showcased his technical ability and football intelligence, ultimately leading to his recognition as the league’s best player.

4. Tefu Mashamaite (2014-2015)

A rock in the heart of Kaizer Chiefs’ defense, Tefu Mashamaite was instrumental in their dominant 2014-2015 season. The central defender’s leadership, aerial prowess, and solid defensive displays were critical as Chiefs conceded the fewest goals in the league and clinched the title. Mashamaite’s consistency and impact were recognized with the Player of the Season award, underscoring the importance of defensive excellence.

5. Percy Tau (2017-2018)

Percy Tau’s scintillating performances for Mamelodi Sundowns in the 2017-2018 season captivated fans and pundits alike. The dynamic forward’s pace, dribbling skills, and goal-scoring ability made him a constant threat to opposition defenses. Tau’s contributions were vital in Sundowns’ title-winning campaign, and his exceptional talent was acknowledged with the Player of the Season award. His success in the PSL paved the way for his move to Europe, where he continues to represent South African football on a global stage.

6. Thembinkosi Lorch (2018-2019)

Thembinkosi Lorch’s remarkable 2018-2019 season with Orlando Pirates earned him widespread acclaim. The versatile attacker was a driving force behind Pirates’ title challenge, with his creativity, agility, and knack for scoring crucial goals making him a standout performer. Lorch’s impressive displays were instrumental in Pirates’ campaign, and his brilliance was rewarded with the Player of the Season award.

7. Themba Zwane (2019-2020, 2020-2021)

Themba Zwane’s back-to-back Player of the Season awards in 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 highlight his consistency and class. The Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder’s exceptional vision, ball control, and goal-scoring ability have made him one of the most influential players in the league. Zwane’s performances were crucial in Sundowns’ continued dominance in the PSL, cementing his status as one of the league’s modern greats.

The PSL Player of the Season award has been a platform to celebrate the immense talent within South African football. These players have not only excelled individually but have also elevated their teams with their performances. As the league continues to grow, new stars will undoubtedly emerge, carrying forward the legacy of excellence established by these remarkable footballers.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button