Your Downs All-Time Africa Dream Team

We asked and you, Masandawana, voted with your fingers to take us down memory lane by picking your faves – your Mamelodi Sundowns All-Time African Dream Team!

It wasn’t easy to land on the XI that could crack the nod into this list of incredibly talented players that have worn the yellow and blue of the country’s record holders for the most championship titles won since the start of the Premier Soccer League era.

Over the years, Sundowns has always explored the polished gems on the continent to strength the team and even today that continues. It’s highlighted even more now with our consistency in the CAF Champions League.

So…we asked, the supporters gave us their suggestions and we put it together.

Denis Onyango, who was named the best goalkeeper in Africa last year and made the CAF best XI alongside Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane, was the outright favourite for the No.1 jersey and it did not come as a surprise at all.

To protect our last night of defense, we have gone with three at the back – former captain Method Mwanjali, the towering figure of Muisi Ajao and Siaka Tiene, who, at 38, is still going strong and is Keagan Dolly’s teammate at Montpellier in France.

Our midfield oozes class and it’s a strikers’ dream to have Esrom Nyandoro, Ernest Mtawali and Roger Feutmba as their supply chain for goals.

Who can forget the big burly Raphael Chukwu?

He led the line for three seasons at Sundowns before moving to Bari in Italy in the late 90s and returned for one final stint in 2004. Chukwu is our Dream Team goal getter.

Supporting him on either flanks in a three-pronged attack is Anthony Laffor and our very own team manager, Peter Ndlovu. Khama Billiat slots in just behind them as a second striker to complete our Africa Dream XI.

Here’s the full list: 

GK – Denis Onyango (Uganda)

Defenders – Method Mwanjali (Zimbabwe), Muisi Ajao (Nigeria), Siaka Tiene (Ivory Coast)

Midfielders – Esrom Nyandoro (Zimbabwe), Ernest Mtawali (Malawi), Roger Feutmba (Cameroon)

Forwards – Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe), Anthony Laffor (Liberia), Peter Ndlovu (Zimbabwe), Raphael Chukwu (Nigeria)

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button