Baxter Explains Why He Didn’t Include Xola Mlambo In The Bafan Squad

Baxter Explains Why He Didn’t Include Xola Mlambo In The Bafan Squad! The Bafana squad to face Seychelles has been announced and one name raised questions on social media on why the player was not called.

Orlando Pirates star Xola Mlambo didn’t make the cut and Baxter has had to explain why he didn’t include him.

“I’ve had meetings with the Pirates staff, and I’ve told them that he’s one that has caught my eye. I’m just looking at the balance of the squad, and I’m thinking, at this moment, against these opponents, is he the one? I was thinking about him more against Libya, I have to admit, because of his ability to play in tight spaces.

“But on the other hand, we knew we were going to have to defend on transition against Libya, and at Pirates, he has a role where he’s a last-third/ build-up player, with others track back quicker than he does,” Baxter said.

, “I think he’s definitely improved, and when I maybe get a younger player that I think is around the same, well then it’s about taking the younger one. And that’s not saying he’s any worse, it’s just saying that for the future it is worth investing in international playing time.

“But he’s certainly one that’s caught my eye, and you know you’ve got to pick a squad that wins, so he’s close, but at the moment I think the balance that we’ve got is okay.”

Bafana will face Seychelles in back-to-back AFCON qualifiers matches on the 13th and 16th of October. Check out who made the cut this time.

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SS Utd), Darren Keet (Wits).

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha, Thapelo Morena (Downs), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkwanazi, S’Fiso Hlanti (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates).

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SS Utd), Lebogang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Sibusiso Vilakazi (Downs), Thabo Nodada (CT City), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford), Vincent Pule (Pirates).

Strikers: Lebogang Phiri (Guingamp, France), Dino Ndlovu (Hangzhou, China), Percy Tau (Royal Union, Belgium), Lebo Mothiba (Racing Strasbourg, France), Phakamani Mahlambi (Downs)



Show More

Related Articles

Read previous post:
Check Out Rapper AKA’s Shoutout To Benni McCarthy On Winning MTN8

Check Out Rapper AKA's Shoutout To Benni McCarthy On Winning MTN8! AKA is a big fan of Cape Town City...