Sports News

Barcelona Sextet Squad Honoured On Occassion Of 10th Anniversary

Trailblazing Barcelona representatives of the team that won six trophies in 2009 were honoured and received glowing tribute on the occasion of their 10th anniversary before game against Alavés.

Before Saturday’s 4-1 win against Alavés at Camp Nou, the six trophies were gathered together along with representatives from the team.

Captain in 2009 Carles Puyol was present as were former Barça players Gaby Milito, Seydou Keita, José Manuel Pinto, Éric Abidal and Xavi Torres.

The three players from that historic squad who are still part of the first team squad include Leo Messi, Sergio Busquets and Gerard Piqué who also appeared before the game. 

Blaugrana set a world recorded by winning six out of six possible competitions they took part in and to this day, Barca remain the only club to win six out of six possible trophies in a calendar year.

As a reminder, Barca won La Liga, the Champions League and the Copa del Rey at the end of the 2008-09 season and the European Supercup, Spanish Supercup and the Club World Cup in the first half of the 2009-10 season.


By Gerald Dandah

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button