InternationalLocalRugbySports News

Siya Kolisi Springboks Nominated For Prestigious Laureus Sports Award

The Springboks capture of the Rugby World Cup and the Rugby Championship trophies‚ have catapulted the Springboks into the realm of the stars that has seen them nominated in the Team of the Year category at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards to be held in Berlin next month.

The Boks, who won the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan, will be up against tough competition.

The other nominees in the Team of the Year include Jürgen Klopp’s Champions League winning Liverpool side, the USA women’s football team who won the women’s World Cup, six-time Formula One world champions Mercedes-AMG Petronas, the first Canadian team to win the NBA Championship, the Toronto Raptors, and two-time FIBA World Cup winners, Spain’s men’s basketball team.

The Springboks won the category at the 2008 Laureus Awards having triumphed at the 2007 World Cup the year prior.

View this post on Instagram

Your team of the year. 🇿🇦🏆 #ChampionsTogether

A post shared by SA Rugby (@bokrugby) on

The sportsman of the year award nominees are tennis player Rafael Nadal‚ F1 driver Lewis Hamilton‚ motor GP champ Marc Márques‚ marathon ace Eliud Kipchoge‚ footballer Lionel Messi and Tiger Woods.

By Gerald Dandah

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button