Sports News

SA Tormentor-In-Chief Ben Stokes Scoops ICC Player Of The Year 2019

England all-rounder Ben Stokes has been named Men’s Cricketer Of The Year in the International Cricket Council’s 2019 awards.

Stokes’ incredible performances in the World Cup, not least in the Lord’s final, and his unforgettable match-winning century in the Ashes Test at Headingley saw him land the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy voted for by members of the media and former players.

Stokes showcased his compelling all-round skills throughout the voting period, scoring 719 runs and taking 12 wickets in 20 one-day internationals as well 821 runs and 22 wickets in 11 Tests.

The new year has also got off to a flying start for Stokes, as he starred in England’s historic second Test win over South Africa in Cape Town last week.

The all-rounder claimed the three final wickets in the last hour of the last day to level the 4-match Test series at one apiece as South Africa were vicariously clinging on for a draw to maintain their series lead.

The 28-year-old Stokes was elated at winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy but remembered to credit his team and support staff.

“It is quite flattering to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. The past 12 months have been incredible for England cricket and to lift the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time was our greatest achievement.

“This award is testament to my teammates and the support staff that have been there every step of the way. Fundamentally, without the support of these individuals, we would never achieved our objective of lifting a major trophy.”

“The last 12 months have been the best in my career, and I believe what we attained will be the catalyst to achieve further success over the next few years.” said Stokes in a video statement.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli bagged the Spirit of Cricket award for his gesture to stop fans from booing Australia’s Steve Smith during a World Cup match.

Kohli was also named captain of both the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

List Of Winners

  • Ben Stokes (England) – Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Best Cricketer of the Year 
  • Pat Cummins (Australia) – Test Cricketer of the Year 
  • Rohit Sharma (India) – ODI Cricketer of the Year 
  •  Deepak Chahar (India, 6-7 v Bangladesh) – T20I Performance of the Year
  • Marnus Labuschagne (Australia) – Emerging Cricketer of the Year
  • Kyle Coetzer (Scotland) – Associate Cricketer of the Year 
  • Virat Kohli stopping the fans booing Steve Smith at the Oval – Spirit of Cricket Award 
  • Richard Illingworth – David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year

By Gerald Dandah

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button