10 South Africa PSL Footballers Of The Year Winners

The PSL Footballer of the Year in South African football is awarded to the most outstanding player of the season. This includes the PSL and the three major cup competitions—the MTN 8 , the Telkom Knockout and the Nedbank Cup.

1.Khama Billiat, took the award for the 2015/16 season. A man who needs no introduction but can be introduced by defenders and goalkeepers way better than any journalist. He is still at the peak of his career.

2.Tefu Mashamaite, won the accolade for the 2014/15 season whiles still playing for Kaizer chiefs. A great defender who rose up to the task and kept a clean run at the back line and protected his keeper well and scored beautiful headers.

3.Sibusiso Vilakazi, as known as Vila won the award for the 2013/14 season at Bidvest Wits. He terrorized defenders and took on players and scored goals. Just what an attacking midfielder is expected to do.


4.In the 2012/13 season Itumeleng Khune took the award and rose up to fame and was recognized as South Africa’s finest goalkeeper and still is even today.

5.Siyabonga Nomvethe, then came back and played for Moroka Swallows where he took the award. he scored goals and was matured in scoring and he gave goalkeepers a headache. Just what a striker is expected to do.

6.2010/11 season, Thulani Serero, came forward playing for Ajax Cape Town and a quick and creative player that was able to beat any player and goalkeeper. He was the definition of South African excellence and soon left to go play in the Netherlands for Ajax Amsterdam.

7.2009/10 season, Morgan Gould took the accolade playing for Supersport United. A great and disciplined defender who played his heart out for Matsatsantsa. He is currently back at Supersport United.

8.2008/09, the general, the maestro, Teko Modise took the award playing for Orlando Pirates. He became of the best midfielders in South African football and still is.

9.2007/08 Season, Teko Modise won the award for introducing himself as the greatest in South Africa playing for Orlando Pirates.

10. Godfrey Sapula, took the award in the 2006/07 season for great work in the colors of Mamelodi Sundowns.



Show More

Related Articles

Read previous post:
Last 10 PSL Referees Of The Season

Officiating is not easy and it can often lead into chaos at the stadium if the referee is not fair...